top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Crow Questions: ROMARZS

ROMARZS are long time friends with the label having played various shows with us, they are taking some time off from working on new songs and about to play some shows around scotland. They were kind enough to answer our questions which you can read below.

 


Who are you and what do you play and where are you from?


MARTYN: Martyn from Aberdeen. Guitar, production and writing.

ROMANA: I’m Romana, the singer and songwriter in Romarzs and I’m from Edinburgh.


What sort of music do you make?


The music we make is Electronic based and sounds like popular music from the 80’s and 90’s.




What are your influences?


ROMANA: Listening to R’n’B and House music has heavily influenced my vocal style. When I was a kid I started listening to the top 40 charts on Radio 1 and watching “Top Of The Pops” on TV which has given me an ear for catchy songs, whatever the genre. I’ve listened to many different styles and it’s the quality of the sounds and the tones of the vocalist that usually grab my attention.

MARTYN: I listen to funk, hip hop/rap, rock and metal. Love a good soundtrack too. 

What is the song writing process like for you?


ROMANA: When I write, it can be instantaneous or written over the top of an instrumental piece. Specific synthesiser sounds can trigger off the start of a vocal hook for me and I enjoy writing that way. I’ve happily taken direction when it comes to choosing a topic to write about but I do like to write lyrics when I’m alone. I’ll either re-write some lyrics to fit the track or the instrumental gets re-worked to allow the vocal to sit comfortably with the rest of the production.

MARTYN: I create beats or smash a few chords together and build on that. For me picking the right sounds is important. Some tracks have a certain soundset which I like to use but other times im looking for something I havent used before.





Do you have anything new in the works?


Yes. We’ve been working on a song called “VHS” actually. The title gives a massive clue as to which era it’s influenced by. It sounds synthy, floaty and the guitar gives it a bit of a sinister vibe.


Was there any record labels you loved or still do?

ROMANA: Obviously “Ice Cream For Crow” - the performances I’ve seen from the bands at the ICFC gigs have all been really energetic. I also love listening to tracks from Toolroom and XL Recordings. 

MARTYN: I was into G-Funk when I was younger so some of the Death Row stuff is memorable. Alot of influential stuff came out on Roadrunner too. As a kid I always seemed to notice the Epic label for some reason.



What would your dream gig be?


ROMANA: I would love to perform at Edinburgh Castle and Princes street gardens. I think the sound of music amplified across the city centre during Hogmanay is special. I’ve had many daydreams of singing in massive arenas but I also love  the feel of nightclubs. I’d love to play in Manchester and London.

MARTYN: I think an all day gig in L.A Coliseum. WIth a line up of bands like Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains to Zapp, Prince, Michael Jackson.

Any local venues or bands you would recommend?


In Edinburgh - The Wee Red Bar, Leith Depot, Brig Below…We also recently tried out playing some of our new material at The Village bar on South Fort street. A few years ago I (Romana) saw “E M I L I E” sing and play keys at what used to be Electric Circus in Edinburgh. I enjoyed listening to her voice and her moody, electronic, sound. I’d recommend checking out our social media pages to see all the artists we’ve been on the line-up with as there’s quite a bit of variety going on.




Any up coming gigs?

We’re playing as the featured act at MJ’S brasserie in Glasgow on the 12th September and on the 13th September we’re up in Aberdeen at the Cellar Bar and on the line-up with Electronic Pop band “Candy Says” from Oxford who have had two of their songs featured  in “Close” on Netflix, and “Autohuman”  - a four piece group from Aberdeen, influenced by Jazz, Punk and everything else.



Anything you would like to add?

Thankyou to Ice Cream For Crow for interviewing us and thankyou to everyone who keeps supporting us!


 

The brand of 80's - early 90's funk/r&b/smooth/electro pop that ROMARZS play is something quite unique and well worth catching live, We can't wait to see them play again.


For more info on ROMARZS, please see the links below:

Bandcamp


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crow Questions: Jarek Kowal (Soundrive)

Doing something a little different this time round, I'm delighted to share with you an interview i did with a new friend across the sea and in a different line of music work. ICFC: Hi Jarek, thank you

bottom of page